Board Game Map Making…not as easy as 101

All Access Tour requires a map of the USA with links between major, secondary and minor cities.  I thought this would be an easy process…it is not.  Here are the steps I have taken so far…

  1. Borrowed a projector from a friend so I could enlarge a map of the US with cities and draw it onto paper from which then I could adhere to a board.
  2. Drew the map and states and divided the US into six regions for game play.
  3. Realized the map was too small and drew another map.  Penned the outline of national and state borders with a Sharpie.  Realized that the outline needed to wait until cities and connections were determined.
  4. Drew third map using projector…added the cities using different sized circles for each level.  Started to link the cities and then realized how random my linkages seemed.  How could I resolve this?
  5. Drew a fourth map…lots of paper being used!…this time I placed a triangle/hex grid over the map similar to TransAmerica.  This grid will be used for the placement of cities and for connections

This is as far as I have got.  It might not seem like a lot was accomplished but I believe that apart from the old adage ‘measure twice cut once’ being abused, I have come quite a way with the map design for All Access Tour.

About Clive

Just an average guy who loves board games, movies, musics, books, comic books, video games and anything else fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Board Game Map Making…not as easy as 101

  1. Damian says:

    I’m currently in the same boat for one of my game designs, getting the U.S just right with a scattering of locals that doesn’t look super random is pretty tricky!

  2. Clive says:

    If I come up with a solution I will let you know 🙂

Leave a Reply

