Long time…no post…board games and education and other stuff

Hi

It seems forever since I posted something worthwhile on this blog!  I have to recharge the creative juices and get back to finishing old ideas and developing new ideas.  This entry will let you know what I have been up to in the past while and the next entry will inform you of what I hope to accomplish in the future.  Here is what I have been up to:

  • I have been working on starting a small business that helps teachers utilize board games more effectively in the classroom.  The name of the business is GAMED, where GAMes and EDucation collide.  My initial steps have to been to create excitement about board games in elementary schools.  To accomplish this I have hosted two family board game nights at local elementary schools.  These went over very well with about 75 to 80 attendees at each event.  My next step is to create a board game library at the elementary school where my wife teaches.  I will be approaching the PAC tomorrow for funding for board games.  From here I will also start a board game club – though with Spring on its way it may be a little late in the year.
  • As part of my consulting business, I have been researching gamification.  Gamification is the use of game design elements in non-game contexts.  Many websites use rewards and points to get visitors to return to their sites.  These simple ‘carrots’ are already used by educators – just think of letter grades, gold stars and other rewards used by teachers.  However, meaningful gamification (if I may borrow Scott Nicholson’s phrase) requires an almost seamless synergy between educational goals and game design elements and any game design elements should make classroom learning fun and engaging in new, creative ways.
  • I have acquired a number of games through trade that have yet to hit the table.  Playing and learning these games is a priority.  We just played Princes of Florence – this will see the table again.
  • However, there has been a major gaming distraction!  Risk: Legacy!  This latest version of Risk is the top priority when all five of us get together to game.  This game is exciting and innovative.  Don’t write it off because it is Risk!

Part 2…coming very soon (in a few minutes)…

About Clive

Just an average guy who loves board games, movies, musics, books, comic books, video games and anything else fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

