I am addicted to new things now…

I moved to Canada in ’89 right in time for the start of Magic the Gathering.  Like most addicts I would sell my body so I could afford to get my daily fix of boosters.  Back then it came in pretty simple strains of red, blue, white, green and black and was simply Magic!  Now there are Planeswalkers, Scars of Mirrodin, New Phyrexia, Zendikar and many other ways to get your gaming high.  How does one keep up?  I certainly am not interested…but…

Today I went to one of my ‘friendly local gaming stores’ having been invited by the owner to partake in the Magic the Gathering Celebration Day.  So, I headed down to All A-Board games to take part in a free mini-master tournament  Five tournaments were held over the five or six hours.  I took part in 3 of the five mini-tourneys, after all it was free!!!  Taking 15 manna cards (3 of each colour) each player was given a Core Set booster pack.  These combined made your deck that you would play with – win a round and you got another booster to improve your deck!  Free boosters!  Free fixes!  I probably ended up with six free boosters…but…

I realized quickly that this was no longer an addiction.  While this was recreational and free and fun, I wasn’t that excited about the prospect of discovering a rare or powerful card.  I was excited about gaming.  I have moved on to other addictions…BOARD GAMES  🙂

About Clive

Just an average guy who loves board games, movies, musics, books, comic books, video games and anything else fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

