Advice from Stefan Dorra

The board game community is an open and generous community.  Even the ‘big’ names in board games are willing to answer questions.  Yesterday, I emailed several game designers asking to give three pieces of advice for aspiring game designers.  The first to reply is Stefan Dorra.  Stefan is a favourite designer of mine and two of my good gaming buddies!  My favourite games are shown below (click on the pictures to go to the BGG page for each game).  I love the way Stefan’s games have a simplicity about them that is balanced by the depth of game play.  Stefan has designed one of my favourite ‘fillers’ and ‘party games’, For Sale!  Also, I cannot wait to get my recently acquired copy of Pergamon to the table.  Thanks Stefan for your prompt reply and the hours of fun you have provided to me, my friends and others in the gaming community!! THANKS!!

Here is Stefan’s advice to any aspiring game designers:

Hi Clive,
first: test it
second: test it
third: test it
Test your prototype with different people many, many times.
And if some players ask you to play it again, you can offer it to a publisher. 😉
Best regards
Stefan
About Clive

Just an average guy who loves board games, movies, musics, books, comic books, video games and anything else fun.
This entry was posted in Design Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

