The trouble with prototypes (or how they lead me astray)

Having an idea for a game is great.  Coming up with mechanics that fit your game is great.  Creating a prototype for your game so that it can be played is both a great step forward and full of pitfalls for me!

I often use the design of a prototype as a break in the thought process – if my brain starts to hurt with mechanics and game play etc then I move to the artsy side and put more time than I should into my prototype.  See the pictures for Ant’s Picnic and my Deep Sea Diver game below – I think they look cool but could have been made a lot simpler for play testing!

The problem is that I get distracted by the artsy creative side – I waste time looking for images and artwork to represent items in a game instead of taking a simpler route by just using icons or colours to represent these items.  I am not sure whether it is procrastination of ADHD or something else!  My lesson learned – though not always used – is it to make a game that can be played and then add the fancy stuff at the end  🙂

About Clive

Just an average guy who loves board games, movies, musics, books, comic books, video games and anything else fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

