The first game I tried to design – back on the work bench!

My first attempt at designing a game was Broadway Producer. By collecting sets of cards that represented people and items needed to put on a Broadway show, players bid for, rehearsed and put on shows.  The most successful got the most money.  I made a prototype but in trying to make the prototype too pretty I lost interest in the game.

However, after chatting with two fellow game designers, SQ and Dshort, I am re-energized about this game too!  They are designing, what seems to be a great card game, based upon espionage.  I won’t say more about it – maybe later if and when I have their permission.  What I learned from them is that you don’t need details in the prototype – colours will do.  The basic principles of the game need to work before you start adding artistic flavour!

Makes sense to me  🙂

About Clive

Just an average guy who loves board games, movies, musics, books, comic books, video games and anything else fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The first game I tried to design – back on the work bench!

  1. David Short says:

    I’m glad geekchat has been helping you. I definitely enjoy having your involvement as well.

Leave a Reply

