Mechanics I wish I had ‘invented’

There are some very clever people out there.  Way cleverer than me and I like to think I am smart!  How Uwe Rosenburg came up with Agricola and how Stefan Feld came up with In the Year of the Dragon and Macao makes my mind want to explode – even though they may have borrowed mechanics from previous games.

Here are some of the mechanics I wish I had thought of (they might not be the original use of the mechanic but were my first introduction):

1) The tool mechanic in Stone Age – fits perfectly with the theme

2) The reshuffling of cards and replacing them on top of the deck in Pandemic – brilliant!

3) The movement (vector) mechanic in Bolide – the game is slow but the mechanic awesome!

4) Using a role to perform a certain task a la Citadels and Mission Red Planet

5) Worker placement!  Enough said!

6) Tile placement as in Carcassonne, where the map is always changing.

These are but a few of my favourite mechanics.

About Clive

Just an average guy who loves board games, movies, musics, books, comic books, video games and anything else fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mechanics I wish I had ‘invented’

  1. David Short says:

    Great post. Here’s my list:

    Rudiger Dorn’s chain movement as found in Goa, Louis XIV, and Genoa – One of my favorite designers and his signature mechanic. Awesome.

    Pandemic’s shuffle mechanic – I have to agree with you here. Genius design.

    Hansa Teutonica’s displacement mechanic – This single mechanic makes the entire game. So elegant.

    Power Grid’s turn order – I love variable turn order and Power Grid is one of the best

    Thebes’ time mechanic – This mechanic has been copied so many times already. It’s that good.

    Caylus’ worker placement – As you’ve already recognized, worker placement has got to be one of my all time favorite mechanics.

    Yspahan’s dice mechanic – I’m continually amazed by the unique use of dice in this game. Awesome.

    Reiner Knizia’s scoring as found in Tigris & Euphrates and others – The balance and depth his scoring creates is fantastic.

    Well, that’s all I can think of at the moment. I’m sure there is more.

Leave a Reply

